Essay About The 7 Wonders Of The World

The Seven Wonders of the World (or the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World) is a widely-known list of seven great buildings or structures from the classical time period.

Seven Wonders of the Ancient World[change | change source]

This is a list put together in the 2nd century BC by Antipater of Sidon and Philon of Byzantium. This explains why it only lists monuments of the Mediterranean world. There are other slightly different versions: this is the most usual one.

  • Great Pyramid of Giza (Egyptian). The oldest of the wonders, and the only one still standing.
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon (Babylonian). Built by Queen Semmu-ramat (= Semi-ramis) or King Nebuchadnazzer II. The exact location of this monument is not known. It was in Mesopotamia.
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia (Greek). A gigantic statue made of marble and ivory, with applied gold leaf.
  • Temple of Artemis (Greek). In Ephesus, Asia Minor (modern Turkey), on the Aegean Sea. It was burnt down by Herostratus in 350 BC. When questioned, he is said to have replied: "To make my name immortal". First known crime committed for fame.
  • Mausoleum of Maussollos (Persian). Tomb of the Anatolian king of that name, built by his widow Artemisia, at Halicarnassus (present Bodrum, Turkey).
  • Colossus of Rhodes (Greek). Built to commemorate the raising of the siege of Rhodes 304–5 BC. At 30 metres, the tallest statue in the ancient world.
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria (Egyptian/Greek). Called the Pharos, this was built for Ptolemy II, about 280 BC. To this day, Pharos is the name for lighthouse in several European languages.

Out of those structures only the Great Pyramid still exists in the 21st century. Most of the wonders were built by the Greeks. Earlier versions listed the Walls of Babylon and the Palace of Cyrus the Great.

Seven wonders of the modern world[change | change source]

This version was decided by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Seven natural wonders of the world[change | change source]

There is no single list of seven natural wonders of the world. One of the many lists was compiled by CNN:

New7Wonders of the World[change | change source]

New7Wonders of the World was an idea to choose new wonders of the world from a selection of 200 existing monuments.[1] The mission began in 2001 and ended in 2007 with the announcement of the winners. The popularitypoll was led by Canadian-Swiss Bernard Weber and organized by the New7Wonders Foundation in Zürich, Switzerland. Voting took place through the Internet or by telephone.

The program caused different reactions from countries and organisations. Some countries praised their finalist and tried to get more people to vote for it. Others criticized the contest or did not think it was very important.[2][3]

Among the strongest criticism was from UNESCO,[4] who said in a press release in 2007:[5]

There is no comparison between Mr. Weber's mediatised campaign and the scientific and educational work resulting from the inscription of sites on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The list of the 8 New Wonders of the World will be the result of a private undertaking, reflecting only the opinions of those with access to the Internet and not the entire world. This initiative cannot, in any significant and sustainable manner, contribute to the preservation of sites elected by this public.



Other modern lists[change | change source]

From a variety of modern lists of wonders made by man, some items occur several times:

References[change | change source]

Other websites[change | change source]

The Great Pyramid of The Seven Wonders of the World Essay

1937 Words8 Pages

The Great Pyramid
Of all the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, only one still stands today: the Great Pyramid of Khufu at Giza in Egypt. Surprisingly, it is by far the oldest of the Seven Wonders. It was already more than 2,000 years old in the time of the ancient Greeks. For more than 4,000 years, the 481-foot-high pyramid was the tallest structure ever built by humans. It is about as tall as a fifty-story building. No other building reached that height until the Eiffel Tower was created in 1887 (Putnam 20). The pyramid’s square base, 756 feet long on each side, is 13 acres, or the size of seven city blocks. The five biggest cathedrals of Europe could be all fitted into the pyramid at the same time (The Pyramids). How did this…show more content…

Because of the pyramid's pointed shape, the building itself acted as a kind of ramp to help the king on his journey (Scarre 22).
However, in addition to the religious meaning, there were also practical reasons for why the ancient Egyptians chose the pyramid’s shape. The pyramid is a strong, stable shape because it has a wide base and narrow top. It is much harder to knock down than a vertical building, which is why ancient pyramids still stand today. In addition, the tomb's sheer size, and the cost and difficulty of building it, made clear to the whole world that the pharaoh was a very powerful man. Indeed, Khufu, who built the Great Pyramid, has been called "probably the most powerful pharaoh ever to rule Egypt" (Putnam 18).
By the time of Khufu's reign, about 2551–2528 B.C., the Egyptians had been building pyramids for only about a century. They had gotten better and better at the construction. While their earlier monuments had been made of mud brick, in about 2680 B.C., the Egyptians discovered how to build with large limestone blocks. Soon after they mastered building with stone blocks, the Egyptians changed their technique. They switched from building step pyramids, which had a series of smaller and smaller levels rising to the top, to the true pyramid shape, which is smooth. Although today the Great Pyramid has a staircase-like appearance, that is because the outer layer of limestone has been torn away over the centuries. When it was built, it would have looked

Show More

Categories: 1

0 Replies to “Essay About The 7 Wonders Of The World”

Leave a comment

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *